Oh, Oh, A Deer, or Two

Tonight I was driving on the winding road along the edge of a mountain on the way to my Spinning Group, fast. Actually I was doing the speed limit for the road, but it seemed fast. I turned to look over my shoulder and then looked back to the road to see the broad side of a DEER!!! I slammed on the brakes, hit the horn and watched the deer in the road run off to the left side of the road away from me and the deer that was following him, jumped away to the right side of my car. I MISSED THEM BOTH! Praise God for that! I slowed down to a crawl while my shaking hands recovered from the near miss. Unfortunately, my spinning wheel attempted to join me in the front seat of my car when I slammed on the brakes! It was ok, no damage, just a loosened drive band. Whew!

Tonight when I got home from Spinning Group I found this article in the news:

According to a study commissioned by State Farm insurance, there were about 2.3 million collisions between deer and vehicles nationwide between July 1, 2008, and June 30, 2010. That means that the chances of a driver striking a deer nationwide over the next 12 months is about 1 in 182.

In South Dakota, though, your chances are much more likely. Drivers in South Dakota have a 1 in 76 chance of striking a deer over the next 12 months – and this is the most probable time of the year to strike a deer. According to officials, these collisions are more frequent during the deer migration and mating season in October, November and December, especially in the early morning hours.

Well, this was at 7pm that the deer and I almost became statistics, but that’s ok, we all survived the near miss.

Leave a comment

Filed under Just rambling, Spinning

Leave a Reply

